Report : Internet Explorer 10 Is the Most Energy-Efficient Browser on Windows 8

IE10-metro-logo

Microsoft loves its Internet Explorer browser and has no problem showing off to the world what it is capable of doing. This time around, IE is championing a new title as the most energy efficient browser on Windows 8.

According to the new findings, Internet Explorer 10 is the most energy-efficient browser on Windows 8, using less energy than Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox to display a large number of websites.

The study discovered some pretty miniscule changes between each browser when it came to situations like “Average, Top 10 Websites” and “Fishbowl Benchmarks.” However, the introduction of Flash into the test showed a fairly substantial change between browser power consumption, with Internet Explorer consuming approximately 18.6 percent less wattage than Google Chrome.

“In the above scenarios, Internet Explorer 10 exhibited the lowest energy consumption. In some scenarios such as playing Adobe Flash video on laptop PCs, it was 18% more energy efficient than Google Chrome, and it was 17% more efficient than Mozilla Firefox in playing HTML5 video,” Microsoft explained.

Microsoft goes so far as to say that if every single Chrome and Firefox user switched to Internet Explorer 10, it would save enough energy to power over 10,000 US homes for a year.

“This is enough energy to power 10,722 households in the United States for an entire year [and] would eliminate the release of over 85,000 metric tons of Carbon Dioxide equivalent in greenhouse gas emissions,” it said.

15 thoughts on “Report : Internet Explorer 10 Is the Most Energy-Efficient Browser on Windows 8

  1. Pingback: Minipillar Blog | Internet Explorer New version for Windows 7

  2. Damn. If I was an IE user, this would be great news! Unfortunately, most people don’t like IE better than other browsers and I don’t think that this information would make more people to use it. Is it more energy-efficient than all chromium browsers or do you only refer to google chrome?

    • Please try to understand that we are not promoting any specific browsers to anyone. If you are a chrome users then it is well and good. But some people who have a computer with less RAM or Processor speed still use Firefox. If someone is a big fan of apple then he uses Safari. As far as Internet explorer is concerned it is good for practicing HTML or stuff like that as your PC does’s come with Chrome or Firefox pre-installed. So it depend on the types of users and the usage.

      Hope you understood our point.

      • Yeah I know you’re not trying to promote anything, I was just sharing my opinions. Anyway, I’m a huge fan of chromium and from my experience, these browsers don’t consume too much energy. I recently started using torch browser, which is chromium-based, and It’s fast and easy. Not sure how to check the amount of energy it takes, but my computer is working as usual, so I guess it’s not drastic.

  3. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Thank You for your kind comments. We will surely help you to frame your blog. Just tell us the problems and I inform you that a blog uses both WYSIWYG editors as well as it could also read HTML 5. If you are weak at coding no problem HTML is going to be easy for you.

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    weblog? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!

  5. I’m not positive the place you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend a while learning much more or understanding more.
    Thank you for great information I was looking for this
    info for my mission.

  6. This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  7. Pingback: 行動電源

  8. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

